### **Programme Structure**

The B.A. Programme in Political Science consists of Core Courses and Elective Courses. The Core Courses are all compulsory courses, and are of two categories: (1) Discipline-Specific Core Course (DSC) and (2) Foundation (English/MIL) Course.

The Elective Courses are of three categories: (1) Discipline-Specific Elective (DSE); (2) Generic Elective (GE) which is interdisciplinary in nature; and (3) Skill Enhancement Course (SEC). In addition, there are two compulsory Ability Enhancement Courses (AECC).

# Syllabus - BA (PROGRAMME) POLITICAL SCIENCE

#### First year

Semester I: Paper I- Introduction to Political Theory

Semester II: Paper-II - Indian Government and Politics

### Second year

Semester III: Discipline Specific Course--Comparative Government and politics

Skill Enhancement Course- Legislative Support

Semester IV: Paper-IV – Discipline Specific Course – Introduction to International Relations

Skill Enhancement Course-Public Opinion and Survey Research

#### **Third Year**

### Semester V: Paper-V

Skill Enhancement Course- Your Laws Your Rights

Generic specific course- Understanding Gandhi

### **Discipline Specific Course-Semester**

A. Themes in Comparative Political Theory

B. Administration and Public Policy-Concept and Theories

# Semester VI: Paper-VI -

Skill Enhancement Course- Conflict and Peace Building

Generic specific Course- Human Rights, Gender and Environment

Discipline Specific Course-Semester – Understanding Globalization

## **NEP B.A. PROGRAMME**

#### Semester I

DSC 1: Introduction to Political Theory

DSC 2: Public Administration in India

## Semester II

DSC 1: Indian Government and Politics

DSC 2: Indian Foreign Policy

SEC SEM II: Political Leadership and Communication